Contact:  Bunnie Jackson-Ransom

404-505-8188 (404-226-8000 cell)




 For Immediate Release:



14th Trumpet Awards Sets New Record of VIP’s on the “RED CARPET”  IN 2006


  Liken unto the “Oscars”  for African American Community Service


Trumpet Awards Ceremony Will Be Telecast on TV One

Atlanta, GA. (January 25, 2006).   Stevie Wonder, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, and  Usher were among the honorees for the 2006 TRUMPET AWARDS held on January 23rd at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta, Georgia. The TRUMPET AWARDS were hosted this year by Chris Tucker and LisaRay McCoy with special performances by Kirk Franklin, Najee, Jeff Majors and a surprise impromptu performance by Stevie Wonder with Aretha Franklin and Doug E. Fresh joining in.  The Trumpet Awards, taped live for broadcast on TV One on March 12th, honored African-American and minority achievers in fields as diverse as law, medicine, civil rights and entertainment.  Selective sponsors included: Turner Broadcasting, General Motors, Hilton Hotels plus UPS and The Coca-Cola Company.

Honorees for the 2006 TRUMPET AWARDS included: Dr. Keith Black (medicine), Lorenzo Creighton (Businessman of the Year, whose Presenter was Bruce Barren), Dr. Bobby Jones (television), Reverend C. T. Vivian (civil rights), Vivica Fox (film), and Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears (law).  Danny Bakewell, Sr. received the President’s Award and Higher M-Pact received the Community Spirit Award.  Usher Raymond received an award for entertainment and the Pinnacle Award.  Archbishop Desmond Tutu received the Global Award and Stevie Wonder received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Prior recipients include: President Lyndon B. Johnson, Nelson Mandella plus Ambassador Andrew Young along with Supreme Court Justice – Thurston Marshall.

Presenters for the Trumpet Awards included Judge Mablean Ephriam, Clifton Davis, Jimmy Jam &Terry Lewis, Aretha Franklin, Richard Roundtree, Blair Underwood, Iman, Pastor Paula White, Eric Benét, Florence LaRue, Reverend Jesse Jackson, and His Royal Highness Bruce Willard Barren, The Duke de Serres.   Additional performers at the Awards Dinner were  George Wallace, Adé Williams, Doug E. Fresh, and Melvin Miller  with the Trumpet Awards All Star Orchestra.

Greeting thousands of guests and honorees on the Red Carpet were Jonathan Slocumb, known as the world’s greatest “inspirtainer” who takes comedy to a new level and keeps it clean, and Shauntay Hinton, actress, TV host, and a former Miss USA.  Judge Glenda Hatchett and WVEE Radio’s Frank Ski hosted the Trumpet Awards Pre Show.

Xernona Clayton, the creator and executive producer of the Trumpet Awards, said, “We have a tremendous opportunity and a great future. In 2004, Turner Broadcasting offered us independence and a multi-million-dollar support system to grow, develop and expand the mission of the Trumpet Awards which we established fourteen years ago.  We are now in our second year with TV One and we are delighted to be working with this dynamic network which incorporates our commitment to give emphasis to the tremendous contributions African-Americans have made in all areas of life.”

Ms. Cathy Hughes, founder and Chairperson of Radio One, Inc. and Chairperson of TV One, says “Each year the Trumpet Awards gets more spectacular than the year before.  We are honored and blessed that Xernona Clayton chose TV One to be the broadcast network to carry the most significantly important awards program in the country that recognizes the accomplishments of African Americans.”   TV One, headed by CEO & President Johnathan Rodgers, serves more than 20 million subscribers, offering a broad range of lifestyle and entertainment-oriented original programming, classic series, movies, fashion and music designed to entertain, inform and inspire a diverse audience of adult African American viewers.